Drunk Driving Laws in Texas
A Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) arrest in Texas is a serious criminal matter that requires immediate action from an experienced trial attorney. Remember, being arrested or charged with DWI does not make you guilty! You have the right to hire an attorney and the right to request a hearing within 15 days of the charge to avoid a license suspension.
As a former Deputy Chief of the Misdemeanor Division, James has trained over 50 prosecutors in DWI prosecution (likely the prosecutor assigned to your case!). James has the skills and experience to find the legal issues and evidentiary weaknesses in any DWI case. James will help address both the criminal charges and the Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing which will determine the status of your driver’s license.
As a former Chief Felony Prosecutor and Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist, James Aulbaugh is ready to assist you with your case. Call Today: 214-500-0430.
DWI Cases Handled at the Aulbaugh Law Firm
Texas DWI Penalties
- Driver’s License Suspension / Revocation
- Permanent Criminal Record
- High-Risk Insurance
- Jail Time
- Community Service
- Alcohol Treatment
- Interlock Device
Protecting Your Rights in a DWI Arrest
The police and prosecution cannot violate your constitutional rights and must follow specific procedures in order to prove their case beyond a reasonable doubt.
James Aulbaugh will aggressively investigate the circumstances of your arrest, including:
- Subpoenaing officers and any video surveillance to ensure proper procedure was followed
- Determining if law enforcement had reasonable suspicion to stop or detain you
- Determining if law enforcement had probable cause to arrest you
- Determining the validity of any alcohol tests administered in the field or in a lab
As a Dallas DWI lawyer, James will protect your rights by ensuring the police did their job legally and correctly. If you have been arrested on a drunk driving charge in Texas, call the Aulbaugh Law Firm immediately. 214-500-0430
Fighting Felony DWI Charges in Texas
Felony DWI convictions carry greater consequences than a misdemeanor DWI. Prior criminal convictions and other facts and circumstances may results in your misdemeanor DWI being enhanced to a felony. A third DWI will often be a felony, carrying a possible sentence of up to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.We can represent you at the administrative revocation hearing to fight the suspension of your driver’s license. The period of the suspension will vary, but generally, for repeat offenders and felony DWI charges, the suspension lasts between 6 months and 2 years.